Energy Central News

Curated power industry news from thousands of top sources.


Tidal and floating offshore projects vying for awards 2017 Scottish Green Energy Awards shortlist

  • Oct 27, 2017 3:18 pm GMT
The Inverness Courier

THE MeyGen and Nova Innovation tidal power projects and the Hywind floating offshore wind scheme are among the high-profile contenders on the shortlist for the 2017 Scottish Green Energy Awards.

The 40-strong shortlist, drawn up from almost 100 entries, also includes a pair of Fife bin lorries that run on hydrogen produced from renewable energy and the first wind farm in the UK to be developed by a housing association.

MeyGen, Nova Innovation and Hywind Scotland are listed in the Outstanding Project category of the annual awards, organised by Scottish Renewables.

Phase 1A of MeyGen began last November with the installation of the first of four tidal turbines, and after some maintenance work over the summer the project has gone on to generate record-breaking levels of power from tidal stream.

It is the largest planned tidal stream project in the world. If MeyGen proceeds as intended, there could eventually be as many as 269 turbines on the seabed.

In 2016 Nova announced the successful deployment of the world's first offshore tidal array in Shetland, while the newly opened Hywind has started powering 20,000 households from its five turbines some 15 miles off the coast of Peterhead.

The Scottish Green Energy Awards, which will be held in Edinburgh on November 30, will be hosted by the comedian Hardeep Singh Kohli and addressed by the Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson.

Jenny Hogan, deputy chief executive of Scottish Renewables, said: "Every year we see some of the best and brightest from our industry come through the Scottish Green Energy Awards judging process, and 2017 is no exception.

"What Scotland is doing – using renewable energy to drive economic growth, cut carbon emissions, heat homes and create jobs – is an exemplar for the rest of the world, and the unique achievements highlighted here show that more clearly than ever.

"These are people and projects of which everyone in Scotland should be proud."

Matthieu Hue, CEO of EDF Energy Renewables, the event's headline sponsor, said: "The judges have a diverse list to choose from and I look forward to the winners being revealed in November."

* Best Community Engagement Award

Lochaber Rural Education Trust and HWEnergy – Biomass SOS Project

Coigach Community Development Company and Scottish Wildlife Trust – Ben Mor Hydro 500kW shared ownership project

The ACCESS Project

•Best Community Project Award

Berwickshire Housing Association – Hoprigshiels Community Windfarm

Coigach Community Interest CompanyCoigach Community Wind Project

Edinburgh Community Solar Co-operative

West Harris Trust – Talla na Mara

•Best Innovation Award

Bright Green Hydrogen, Fife Council and Toshiba – Levenmouth Community Energy Project

National Grid and University of Strathclyde – Enhanced Frequency Control Capability

Scottish Water Horizons and SHARC Energy – Borders College Campus sewage energy recovery system

SP Energy Networks – Future Intelligent Transmission Network Substation

•Carbon Reduction Award

Bright Green Hydrogen, Fife Council and Toshiba – Levenmouth Community Energy Project

McDermid Energy Solutions – Cormac Engineering Biomass District Heating System

The Royal Highland Centre – Biomass Heat Pod

•Outstanding Project Award

Atlantis Resources – MeyGen

Nova Innovation – Shetland Tidal Array

Statoil ASA – Hywind

•Champion of Renewables

Barbara Whiting

Dr Gareth Davies

Promoting Excellence in Education and Transversal Skills (PEETS)

Wood Group

•Contribution to Skills Award

2050 Climate Group

Energy Skills Partnership, Heriot-Watt University and ORE Catapult – Hybrid Reality Offshore Wind Lab

Professor Bill Leithead

•Outstanding Service Award

Green Marine (UK) Ltd

Leask Marine Ltd

Sweco Energy Infrastructure Team

Wood Group

•Sustainable Development Award

Jackie and Calum Innes – Restoration of Downie's Cottage, Braemar

Lochaber Rural Education Trust and HWEnergy – Biomass SOS Project

SP Energy Networks – Future Intelligent Transmission Network Substation

SSE – Clyde Extension Wind Farm

•Rising Star Award

Ailsa Smith, Wood Group

Andrew Hynd, Atkins

Benjamin Williamson, University of Aberdeen

Caitlin Long, EMEC

Emma Reid, Pinsent Masons

Jason Morin, Muirhall Energy

Julie Blue, CS Wind UK

Virginia Ruiz Albacete, ScottishPower Renewables

Spell checking: Press the CTRL or COMMAND key then click on the underlined misspelled word.

No discussions yet. Start a discussion below.

Get Published - Build a Following

The Energy Central Power Industry Network is based on one core idea - power industry professionals helping each other and advancing the industry by sharing and learning from each other.

If you have an experience or insight to share or have learned something from a conference or seminar, your peers and colleagues on Energy Central want to hear about it. It's also easy to share a link to an article you've liked or an industry resource that you think would be helpful.

                 Learn more about posting on Energy Central »