Energy Central News

Curated power industry news from thousands of top sources.


PT Supreme Energy targets start of 80 MW Muara Laboh geothermal plant by September 2019

Asharq Alawsat

PT Supreme Energy expects to start commercial operations of its 80 MW Muara Laboh geothermal power plant in September 2019.

Indonesian energy company PT Supreme Energy reports that it targets the Muara Laboh Geothermal Power Plant (PLTP) located in Solok Selatan Regency, West Sumatra Province, to operate commercially (COD) in September 2019.

The company reached a tariff agreement with PT Perusahaan Listrik Negara (PLN) in May of this year.

The investment needed for the power plant project reaches US $ 580 million. The funds come from internal cash and from a consortium of Development Financial Institutions consisting of the Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC), the Asian Development Bank (ADB), and commercial banks consisting of Mizuhho Bank, Ltd., Bank of Tokyo-Mistubishi UFJ, and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, with guarantees from Nippon Export and Investment Insurance (NEXI).

In addition to the Muara Laboh PLTP, Supreme also has a Rantau Dedap PLTP project, located in Lahat Regency, South Sumatra, with a capacity of 90 MW. The target is this plant will operate in 2020. The investment is estimated to reach US $ 700 million.

Then, Supreme previously also worked on the Rajabasa PLTP project located in Lampung. However, after exploration, the company only found a capacity of 80 MW. Even though the previous estimate was 220 MW.

Therefore, the company will explore in other areas in order to maximize the existing potential, so that it can build more than one PLTP unit. We have the next unit, and explore to the next area, according to Vice President Relations and Safety Health Environment Prijandaru Effendi.

Supreme Energy is a company that develops geothermal power, the company was built in October 2007. Supreme Energy has three subsidiaries, namely Supreme Energy Muara Labih, which was established on July 1, 2008, as a holder of Geothermal Permits (IPB) for Geothermal Working Areas (WKP) in Solok Selatan, West Sumatra. Second, Supreme Energy Rajabasa. Established on July 1, 2008, as the holder of Rajabasa WKP IPB Lampung Regency, Lampung Province. Third, Supreme Energy Rantau Dedap, which was established on July 1, 2008, as the holder of IPB for Rantau Dedap WKP, in Muara Enim Regency, South Sumatra.


No discussions yet. Start a discussion below.

Get Published - Build a Following

The Energy Central Power Industry Network is based on one core idea - power industry professionals helping each other and advancing the industry by sharing and learning from each other.

If you have an experience or insight to share or have learned something from a conference or seminar, your peers and colleagues on Energy Central want to hear about it. It's also easy to share a link to an article you've liked or an industry resource that you think would be helpful.

                 Learn more about posting on Energy Central »