Senior decision-makers come together to connect around strategies and business trends affecting utilities.


Why is the EMC Giving Away a New Award? Introducing a New Methodology and a New Award

image credit: approved to use
Jack Doueck's picture
President Advanced Energy Capital

Mr. Jack Doueck has been in the financial services industry since 1992, and has founded and run several investment funds and companies. In 1997 Mr. Doueck co-founded an investment advisory firm...

  • Member since 2012
  • 5 items added with 2,652 views
  • Feb 13, 2019

For the past 5 years, Energy Marketing Conferences has featured the retail energy awards.  At the Houston conferences in the spring, we present “The Retail Energy Provider of the Year Award” as well as “The Most Innovative Marketer”.  In the fall, at the New York City conferences we present the “Leadership and Integrity Award”.

We have decided to change the methodology of how we choose the nominees and the winners, and we are adding a new award for the first time.

We are proud to announce a new strategic partnership with Energy Research Consulting Group (“ERCG”).  ERCG will send out an industry-wide survey to all competitive energy market participants.  The results will be used to nominate the potential awardees in a more democratic way than ever before.  Essentially, the industry will be choosing the winners instead of the board of EMC.

We have also decided to add a third award for Houston: “Vendor of the Year” and it will be determined using the same ERCG survey.

For the first time in the history of the industry, vendors will be recognized and honored.

 The three awards that will be presented at the upcoming Energy Marketing Conference on April 2nd in Houston will be:

  • “The 2018 REP of the Year Award”
  • “The 2018 Most Innovative Marketer Award”
  • “The 2018 Vendor of the Year Award”.

The nominees of the awards will be announced after ERCG conducts an industry-wide survey and calculates the results. Please help us out by responding to the survey that you receive.

The winners of the awards will be announced at the EMC luncheon. 

Previous winners of the REP of the Year Award include Crius Energy (2013), GDF Energy Resources (2014), Spark Energy (2015), XOOM Energy (2016), and Discount Power Texas (2018).

Previous winners of the Most Innovative Marketer Award were NRG (2013), Direct Energy (2014), Major Energy (2015), Stream Energy (2016) and Inspire Energy (2017).

Founded in 2013, ERCG is a leading consulting firm in the ABC industry. ERCG has extensive experience in retail energy - from business planning to competitive intelligence, and retail policy analytics. ERCG has the deepest network and relationships with the broker community and their supplier partners, and its research is viewed as the most authoritative in the field.

The Energy Marketing Conference is the largest gathering of retail energy professionals in North America and it expects to host 700 attendees. The theme of this year's conference is "Transactions vs. Relationships”. 


No discussions yet. Start a discussion below.

Jack Doueck's picture
Thank Jack for the Post!
Energy Central contributors share their experience and insights for the benefit of other Members (like you). Please show them your appreciation by leaving a comment, 'liking' this post, or following this Member.
More posts from this member

Get Published - Build a Following

The Energy Central Power Industry Network is based on one core idea - power industry professionals helping each other and advancing the industry by sharing and learning from each other.

If you have an experience or insight to share or have learned something from a conference or seminar, your peers and colleagues on Energy Central want to hear about it. It's also easy to share a link to an article you've liked or an industry resource that you think would be helpful.

                 Learn more about posting on Energy Central »