Senior decision-makers come together to connect around strategies and business trends affecting utilities.


Con Edison Wins 2021 ReliabilityOne Awards for Reliable Service, Dedication

Allan Drury's picture
Media Relations manager, Con Edison

Allan Drury joined Con Edison in May 2009 as a Media Relations spokesman. Working in New York City, the media capital of the world, he speaks daily with reporters from local and national...

  • Member since 2016
  • 76 items added with 60,270 views
  • Nov 18, 2021

Con Edison won recognition from PA Consulting as the recipient of the 2021 ReliabilityOne® Award for Outstanding Reliability Performance in the Northeast Metropolitan Service Area. The company is also a recipient of the ReliabilityOne® Outstanding Community Safety Award.

All utilities operating dense electric-delivery networks in North America are eligible for consideration for the award for reliability performance in a metro area.

The Outstanding Community Safety Award is for the company that demonstrated an extraordinary effort to mitigate outages and increase community safety with proactive strategy, processes and procedures while achieving high levels of community public safety awareness and outage prevention.

“These awards are a tribute to all the women and men of Con Edison who dedicate themselves to providing our customers with the safe, reliable service they deserve,” said Steven J. Parisi, Con Edison’s vice president, Engineering and Planning. “It is gratifying to know that we continue to provide stellar service while also leading the transition to renewables and other technologies that will ensure a clean energy future.”

“For 21 years, the ReliabilityOne® Awards have highlighted outstanding electric utility providers who are focused on resiliently building a more positive future for their customers,” said Gregg Edeson, PA Consulting’s ReliabilityOne® program director. “We are pleased to name Con Edison as an industry leader for delivering outstanding service and restoration efforts while balancing customer needs and optimizing investments.”

There are eight metropolitan service regional awards: Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Midwest, Plains, Mountains, West, Southeast, and Southwest. The selection of provisional recipients is based primarily on system reliability statistics that measure the frequency and duration of customer outages.

After provisional recipients are selected, each company undergoes an on-site certification process that provides an independent review and confirmation of the policies, processes and systems used to collect, analyze and report a company's reliability results.



No discussions yet. Start a discussion below.

Allan Drury's picture
Thank Allan for the Post!
Energy Central contributors share their experience and insights for the benefit of other Members (like you). Please show them your appreciation by leaving a comment, 'liking' this post, or following this Member.
More posts from this member

Get Published - Build a Following

The Energy Central Power Industry Network is based on one core idea - power industry professionals helping each other and advancing the industry by sharing and learning from each other.

If you have an experience or insight to share or have learned something from a conference or seminar, your peers and colleagues on Energy Central want to hear about it. It's also easy to share a link to an article you've liked or an industry resource that you think would be helpful.

                 Learn more about posting on Energy Central »